Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Course
In Florida, the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course (TLSAE) Course is one of the requirements to obtain your first learner's driver license. This course is approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV), and is also called the drug and alcohol course.
This course teaches students about the dangers of driving after drinking alcohol or using drugs. Per state law, the course requires a minimum of four hours to complete. The student can take the course non-stop or throughout various days / weeks at your own pace. There is no maximum time limit, and the course allows the student to login and logout of the content at any time, saving the amount of time already spent. Our material for you to study is only an introduction chapter followed by 5 single-subject chapters, professionaly designed.
Remember - the DMV offices no longer accepts paper certificates for the Drug and Alcohol Test and the Permit Test. Our approved school sends your certificate electronically to the Florida DMV. When you go to the DMV to get your learners permit, they look your Florida Traffic Law and Substance Course completion certificate based on your name and social security number.
Be aware the DHSMV is also referred to as the Florida DMV or FLHSMV in various locations. Their official website is https://www.flhsmv.gov/.
This course is known by different names, but they are all the same course. The course can be referred to as Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE), Course for first time drivers, Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness, Florida pre-licensing traffic course and Florida Teenager driver license course among other names. While names vary, the important factor is to be approved by the DMV. Our course is approved to deliver the education online. And your completion is reported electronically automatically to the DMV 24x7.
Florida First Drivers License Requirements
To earn a Florida drivers license, you must:
- Be at least 16 years old
- Complete the Florida's TSLAE course
- Pass a written permit test
- Complete 50 hours of behind-the-wheel training
- Pass the DHSMV road test
"The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles produces the official Florida Driver License Handbook to provide the information new and experienced motorists need to pass the driver exam, learn the rules of the road, understand traffic controls and drive safely under various circumstances." - FLHSMV Executive Director Terry L. Rhodes
The official Florida Driver License Handbook can be found directly at DMV website
- ENGLISH FL DMV DRIVER HANDBOOK - official book to study for Florida Driver License
- FL DMV MANUAL DEL MOTORISTA EN ESPANOL - manual oficial para licencias de conducir de Florida
Start now your Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Course by clicking here.
DriverEducators offers several courses to assist with insurance discount and removing speeding violations from your driving record.